Physics Department Announces Chakrabarti as Head  

Amit ChakrabartiThe Department of Physics announces the appointment of Amit Chakrabarti as Head of the Department of Physics.  He will also hold the William & Joan Porter Chair in Physics.

Dr. Chakrabarti took the helm of the department on June 12.  He has served on the K-State Physics faculty since 1990.  His research focuses on theoretical physics with interests in soft matter and statistical physics.  Chakrabarti succeeds Dean Zollman who will begin phased retirement in August after serving two five-year terms as Head.

“I am very excited to be selected as the next department head of physics, a premier department at Kansas State University in terms of both research and teaching,” said Chakrabarti.  I will strive to balance strong leadership with active management by working closely with physics faculty, staff, and students. At the same time, I will constantly be in touch with our alumni and friends and ask for their advice and help in taking the department to a higher, distinguished level.”

Chakrabarti earned a bachelor’s degree (with honors) in 1979.  He completed a master’s degree in 1982 from University of Calcutta and a doctorate from the University of Minnesota in 1987.  He received the Stamey Undergraduate Teaching Award in 1992 and 2000, the Presidential Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching in 2002, and was honored with the K-State Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award in 2009.

“Based on Amit’s performance as interim Department Head [in 2006-07], we are confident that the department will continue to enjoy strong leadership,” said Professor Larry Weaver, who chaired the search committee.

Chakrabarti challenges himself and the department with this inspirational quote:  “If we don’t compete with ourselves, somebody else will.” ---- Akio Morita, founder of Sony.