1. K-State home
  2. »Physics
  3. »Alumni and Friends
  4. »News

Department of Physics

News Alumni & Friends

2018 Alumni News

Alumnus recipient of prestigious NASA award

Jackie Spears named acting associate dean for academic affairs at K-State Olathe

2017 Alumni News

Physics Distinguished Alumni Lecture Presentation by Alicia Allbaugh (PhD 2003) Mars Curiosity Rover Coordinator at NASA Available Online

Colloquium Presentation by Alicia Allbaugh (PhD 2003) Available Online

2016 Alumni News

Michelle Munson (BS' 96) among Alumni honored for career succ

Physics Alumni and CEO of Aspera Inc., Michelle Munson, to speak on birth and growth of high-speed transport platform on March 3 at 3 pm 

Physics Alum and K-State Polytechnic names physics professor Richard Zajac (PhD ' 97) winner of Marchbanks Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence

2015 Alumni News

Alumni Wins Perfect Pitch Contest

Alumna Patricia Solís (BS in modern languages and physics) will receive the College of Arts & Sciences Alumni Merit Award today here at K-State. See http://bit.ly/1LwcmIJ for more information.

Jody Brazil, BS, Physics (1995) and CEO of Firemon company has been named Ernst & Young's 2015 Entrepreneur of the year. See http://on.mktw.net/1J64xbF  for more information.  Jody will present the 2015 Nichols lecture on September 8 at 4:30 pm in the Hemisphere Room of Hale Library.

Physics Alum selected to teach at USMA in West Point

Congratulations to William T. Waggoner (PhD 1990) on being named an AAPT Fellow for 2015. New Fellows will be recognized during the Summer Meeting in College Park, Maryland.

2014 Alumni News

Michelle Munson (BS '96) Featured in New York Times

Alumna Dyan Jones ('09) to be Honored with the 2014 Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT

2013 Alumni News

Jackie Spears to Serve as Acting CEO for the K-State Olathe Campus

The PhD Thesis of our former graduate student Cheng Jin, "Theory of Nonlinear Propagation of High Harmonics Generated in a Gaseous Medium", has been selected  to be published into the Springer Theses series. The publication offers the opportunity to gain further exposure of his thesis work and prize money. Dr. Jin's PhD thesis was directed by University Distinguished Professor C. D. Lin within the J. R. MacDonald Laboratory.

Alumna Dyan Jones Named Research Fellow at Mercyhurst University

Jim Chelikowsky, Class of 1970, Wins Rahman Prize from the American Physical Society

2012 Alumni News

Physics Alumna Jacqueline Spears Appointed Interim Associate Dean at K-State Olathe

Alumna and Manhattan Native Bob Woodruff (BS '64), 2012 Ernest Nichols Distinguished Lecturer, to Present Lecture on Monday, October 15, at 4:30 p.m. in Town Hall of the K-State Leadership Studies Building

Porter Professor & Head Amit Chakrabarti Meets with Alumni in New Mexico

Physics Alum Lawrence Ramsey (MS '72) Named Penn State Distinguished Scholar

2011 Alumni News

Alumnus Kevin Knabe Wins Medal at NIST

K-State's Brett Esry (BS '93) Named University Distinguished Professor

2010 Alumni News

Dyan McBride, PhD '09, Dean Zollman and Sytil Murphy Win Apparatus Competition at AAPT Meeting

Alum Carol Regehr, MS '85, Selected as Interim WESP Outreach Coordinator at K-State

K-State's Stephen Dyer (BS '73) Receives Career Excellence Award from Top Instrumentation and Measurement Society

Teachers from Coast to Coast Selected for K-State Program to Ethiopia; Participants to Develop Classroom Lessons on Diversity, Culture of African Nation

Bill Porter (MS '52) Honored by the Option Industry Council

2009 Alumni News

Associate Professor Jackie Spears Works with K-State Program Sending Teachers to Ethiopia to Bring Lessons on Diversity and Culture Back to American Classrooms

Alumni Update from Loren S. Bearce

2007 Alumni News

Physics Department Gets Million Dollar Gift from William Porter '52 and wife Joan

The first Peterson Public Lecture Series in Physics was given on March 12 by Lawrence Krauss of Case Western Reserve University

The first James R. Neff Lecture in Physics will be given on April 23 at 4:30 p.m. in Cardwell 103 by Robert H. Austin of Princeton University

2006 Alumni News

Art Hobson who received his PhD from our Department in 1964 is the 2006 recipient the Robert A. Millikan Medal from the American Association of Physics. "This award recognizes teachers who have made notable and creative contributions to the teaching of physics." Art is a professor emeritus of physics at the University of Arkansas.

Dr. Douglas S. Gale set up a small information technology consulting firm last fall and moved to Big Sky last summer.  Henrietta telecommutes for a company in DC and Douglas does consulting assignments as needed.  Contact him at:  doug@galefamily.com or www.galefamily.com (personal) or dgale@itassociates.org or www.itassociates.org (professional).

Associate Professor Jackie Spears serves in the faculty senate at K-State and is on the faculty in secondary education. She also instructs in the Women's Studies program.  She was presented with a plaque of appreciation for her exemplary leadership of Academic Affairs for the past two years.

K-State Physics Department News

K-State Physics Newsletters