Bill Spencer Recognized by IEEE

William Spencer who received a Ph.D. form our Department in the 1960s has been Recognized by the IEEE for exceptional achievements.  Bill is the recipient of the 2003 IEEE Ernst Weber Engineering Leadership Recognition Award with the following citation:

"For engineering leadership in raising performance in semiconductor manufacturing and fostering cooperative work towards international standards."

The IEEE Web site states, “[The] Ernst Weber Engineering Leadership Recognition was established in1985. It is presented for exceptional managerial leadership in the fields of interest to the IEEE.

The leadership may be reflected in an executive role by attaining preeminent stature in the eyes of the engineering community as an individual whose inspirational, creative, and professional contributions have been extraordinarily successful, exemplary, and persuasive in pursuing the theory, planning implementation, and direction of outstanding achievements, contributions, or service in the field of electrotechnology.”

Bill Spencer was named Chairman Emeritus of the International SEMATECH Board in November 2000 after serving as Chairman of SEMATECH and International SEMATECH Boards since July 1996. He came to SEMATECH in October 1990 as President and Chief Executive Officer. He continued to serve as President until January 1997 and CEO until November 1997.  During this time, SEMATECH became totally privately funded and expanded to include non-US members.  Many gave SEMATECH part of the credit for the US semiconductor turnaround in the 90’s.

Bill has held key research positions at Xerox Corporation, Bell Laboratories and Sandia National Laboratories.  Before joining SEMATECH in October 1990, he was Group Vice President and Senior Technical Officer at Xerox Corporation in Stamford, Connecticut from 1986 to 1990.

Other awards include the Regents Meritorious Service Medal from the University of New Mexico in 1981; the C. B. Sawyer Award for contribution to "The Theory and Development of Piezoelectric Devices" in 1972; and a Citation for Achievement from William Jewell College in 1969, where he also received an Doctor of Science degree in 1990.