Three Elected Fellows in American Physical Society

Three physics faculty members have been selected as fellows in the American Physical Society. Itzik Ben-Itzhak, Brett Depaola and Bharat Ratra were among the less than one-half of 1 percent of the international society's members to be recognized with fellowships this year.

According to the American Physics Society, the fellowship program was created to recognize members who have made advances in knowledge through original research, made significant contributions in the application of physics to science and technology or made contributions to the teaching of physics or to the society.

Ben-Itzhak is a member of the J.R. Macdonald Laboratory, an atomic physics group operating under a Department of Energy grant researching ion-molecule collisions.

Depaola was one of the first physicists to travel to Japan as part of a cooperative research program between K-State and a Japanese physics laboratory, RIKEN.

Ratra is in the middle of a five-year, $300,000 National Science Foundation grant to study experimental data generated by deep-space experiments to help determine the shape of the universe.

Itzik Ben-Itzhak Brett DePaola Bharat Ratra