K-State Professors Elected Fellows in American Physical Society

Three Physics faculty members have been selected as fellows in the American Physical Society. Itzik-Ben-Itzhak, Brett DePaola and Bharat Ratra were among the less than one-half of 1 percent of the international society's members to be recognized with fellowships this year. The fellowship program was created to recognize members who have made advances in knowledge through original research, made significant contributions in the application of physics to science and technology or made contributions to the teaching of physics or to the society.

Ben-Itzhak, who joined K-State in 1988, is a member of the J. R. Macdonald Laboratory, an atomic physics group operation under a Department of Energy grant researching ion-molecule collisions.





DePaola was one of the first physicists to travel to Japan as part of a cooperative research program between K-State and a Japanese physics laboratory, RIKEN. His experiements involved linear acceleration attempts to characterize electrons. He came to K-State in 1986.





Ratra is in the middle of a five-year, $300,000 National Science Foundation grant to study experimental data generated by deep-space experiments to help determine the shape of the universe. He recently co-authored an article in The Reviews of Modern Physics on his research. Ratra joined K-State in 1996.