1. K-State home
  2. »Physics
  3. »News & Events
  4. »News Stories
  5. »2015 News
  6. »University nominates physics major Joshua Nelson for Goldwater Scholarship

Department of Physics

University nominates physics major Joshua Nelson for Goldwater Scholarship

Kansas State University has nominated four students for the 2015 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. One of the nominees is physics major Joshua Nelson of Salina.

Established by Congress in 1986 to honor Sen. Barry M. Goldwater from Arizona, the scholarship is awarded to nearly 300 undergraduate students across the country every year. Awardees receive up to $7,500 annually for college-related expenses. The purpose of the Goldwater Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue research careers in these fields.

With 71 Goldwater scholars to date, Kansas State University ranks first among the nation's 500 state-supported universities in the number of scholars.

Nelson, a junior in physics, is working with Carlos Trallero, assistant professor of physics, in the James R. Macdonald Laboratory, on developing new techniques to produce usable high-energy, ultrafast laser pulses. Nelson is vice president of the Jardine Hall Governing Board and an Eagle Scout. He received a College of Arts & Sciences Research Scholarship, 2014 K-State Research Experience for Undergraduates and Dane G. Hansen Student Scholarship. A 2012 graduate of Salina South High School, he is the son of Dennis and Mary Nelson, Salina.

Courtesy of Communications & Marketing