1. K-State home
  2. »Physics
  3. »News & Events
  4. »News Stories
  5. »2013 News
  6. »Undergrads Selected for A&S Research Awards

Department of Physics

Physics Undergraduates Selected for A&S Research Awards

Several physics undergraduate majors have received a fall 2013 College of Arts & Sciences Research Award.  The students chosen and their faculty mentors are listed below.

  • Mitchell Burkett, senior, working with Dr.Artem Rudenko in Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics
  • Brandin Davis, sophomore, working with Dr. Robert Szoszkiewicz in Condensed, Soft and Biological Matter Physics
  • Xiang Li, junior, working with Dr. Artem Rudenko in Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics
  • David Munger, junior, working with Dr. Brett DePaola in Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics
  • Jeffrey Murray, senior, working with Dr. Sanjay Rebello in Physics Education Research
  • Yukun Qin, senior, working with Dr. Carlos Trallero in Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics
  • Justin Raybern, senior, working with Dr. Andrew Ivanov in High Energy (Particle) Physics

These awards allow them to work closely with a faculty mentor to hone their research interests and make a contribution to the field. In addition, they will be able to network with researchers at conferences and present their findings.

The award recipients spend at least 100 hours working on their projects and receive a scholarship of $1,000 as part of this award from the College.

The Physics Department will extend the College funding for another 100 hours of research time for each of these students. Funds for the physics departmental contribution are available due to the generosity of our friends and alumni.