1. K-State home
  2. »Physics
  3. »News & Events
  4. »News Stories
  5. »2013 News
  6. »New Student Chapter of Optical Society at Kansas State University

Department of Physics

OSANew Student Chapter of Optical Society at Kansas State University

Kansas State University is pleased to announce the formation of a student chapter of the Optical Society of America (OSA).

Derrek Wilson, physics graduate research assistant, is president of the chapter which currently includes fellow members Stefan Zigo, Travis Severt, Pratap Timilsina, Adam Summers, Bethany Joachim, Wei Cao, and Varun Makhija.  Dr. Carlos Trallero, assistant professor of physics, is the faculty advisor for the chapter.

"Building a strong network of OSA Student Chapters around the globe is one of OSA's highest priorities," said OSA President Donna Strickland.  "We are pleased to welcome Kansas State University's new Student Chapter to our growing network of chapters and local sections.  Their work will further OSA's goal of bringing awareness of the importance of optics and photonics to a worldwide audience."   To support OSA Student Chapters, OSA provides a variety of benefits, such as start-up funds and the opportunity to apply for activity and educational outreach grants, an annual traveling lecturer program, travel support for one Student Chapter member to attend OSA's annual Leadership Meeting, eligibility for a Student Chapter Excellence Award, support for the International OSA Network of Students (IONS) event and more. Complete details on benefits can be found on the Student Services section of OSA's website.

To learn more about the Kansas OSA Student Chapter, please contact Derrek Wilson atderrekw@phys.ksu.edu or 785-532-2653 or Carlos A. Trallero at carlos@phys.ksu.edu or 785-532-0846. More information about OSA's Student Chapter program is available on OSA's website or by contactingchaptersandsections@osa.org, +1.202. 416.1432.