1. K-State home
  2. »Physics
  3. »News & Events
  4. »News Stories
  5. »2013 News
  6. »Jim Chelikowsky Wins APS Rahman Prize

Department of Physics

Jim Chelikowsky, Class of 1970, Wins Rahman Prize from the American Physical Society

Jim Chelikowsky, director of the Institute for Computational Engineering Sciences Center for Computational Materials, has won the American Physical Society's (APS) highest award in the field of computational physics, the Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics. Cited for his "computational applications of quantum theories to understand and predict material properties," the 50,000-member APS awarded Chelikowsky the annual prize designed to recognize and encourage outstanding research in computational physics.

Chelikowsky holds the W.A. "Tex" Moncrief Jr. Chair in Computational Materials within the Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences at The University of Texas at Austin where he is professor in the Departments of Physics, Chemical Engineering, and Chemistry and Biochemistry.

His research focuses on optical properties, interfacial phenomena, nano-regime systems, microstructure of liquids, simulated imaging and the development of high performance algorithms to predict the properties of materials.

He received his B.S. in physics summa cum laude from Kansas State University in 1970 and his Ph.D. in physics from the University of California at Berkeley in 1975. Prior to his current position, he was a group leader in theoretical physics and chemistry at Exxon Corporate Research Science Labs and on the faculty in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at the University of Minnesota, where he was an Institute of Technology Distinguished Professor.

He is a fellow of the American Physical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the Materials Research Society and a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship recipient. He has received the David Turnbull Lectureship Award from the Materials Research Society and previously received the David Adler Lectureship Award from APS.