Two KSU Physics Graduate Students Receive NSK GK-12 Fellowships for 2012-2013

Will HeinsonWill Heinson and Amy Rouinfar have been selected as National Science Foundation GK-12 EIDRoP fellows for 2012-2013.  Will and Amy will receive a thirty thousand dollar fellowship to support their PhD research, plus tuition, fees, and a research allowance.  They will also spend about eight hours per week working with a partner teacher at Junction City High School in the USD 475 Geary County school district.  Junction City High School serves a highly diverse group of students that includes many of the children of US Army personnel stationed at Ft. Riley.  

As well as actively pursuing their PhD research topics at KSU, Will and  Amy will work with their partner teachers as guest scientists, developing instructional hands-on modules that explain their research to JCHS students.  Previous EIDRoP fellows have found that this experience resulted in major improvements in their ability to communicate their work with their scientific peers and with the general public, an outcome consistent with NSF GK-12 goals to train more versatile  graduate students for the twenty-first century.  

Amy RouinfarWill and Amy join previous KSU Physics EIDRoP fellows Jackie Chini, Jessica Changstrom, Adrian Madsen, Jeff Powell and Raiya Ebini.  The K-State EIDRoP program is led by Carolyn Ferguson, associate professor of biology, with KSU physics faculty members Tim Bolton and Sanjay Rebello serving as co-investigators.  Mary Mignano, chair of the JCHS science department, serves as lead partner teacher.  More information may be found at

Courtesy of Tim Bolton