Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging (DEIB)

The Kansas State University Physics Department is committed to diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging. We believe that these principles directly support our department’s quest for excellence. We embrace the Kansas State University Principles of Community and the American Physical Society Guidelines on Ethics.

Every member of the Kansas State University Physics Department plays a vital role in sustaining the safe, caring, and humane environment required to accomplish our missions in teaching and learning, research, and service to the people of Kansas, the nation, and the world.

  • We recognize the relationship between diversity and excellence in all our endeavors.
  • We affirm the dignity of all individuals. We will not discriminate on any basis, including but not limited to race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, disability, military status, urban-rural background, or first-generation student status.
  • We are committed to ensuring freedom of expression and dialog and encourage the full spectrum of views held by our community members.
  • We respect the differences and the commonalities that bring us together and expect civility and respect in our personal interactions.
  • We embrace open and equitable access to opportunities for learning and development as our obligation and goal.

For more information, visit K-State Diversity and Inclusion

K-State Physics Department Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging Committee (DEIBC)

In an effort to work towards our department's commitment to these goals, we have formed a DEIB committee consisting of the following faculty, staff, and graduate students.

Feel free to contact any of these committee members if you have any questions, comments or suggestions.

We have also joined the APS Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity Alliance and are working with other DEIB committees and initiatives in the College of Arts and Science and on the campus at large.

Committee Members

Glenn Horton Smith, Faculty Chair

Brett DePaola, Faculty

Kayla Engel, Staff

Loren Greenman, Faculty

Katelynn Hubenig, Graduate Student

J.T. Laverty, Faculty

Brandi Lohman, Staff

Vacant, Postdoc/Research Faculty

Further Resources