The Physics Department at K-State is composed of a dynamic group of tenure-track, research, and instructional faculty, as well as outstanding postdoctoral research fellows, graduate students, undergraduate researchers, and professional staff. All members of this team contribute in essential ways the department’s land-grant, public research university commitment to teaching and learning, research, and service to the people of Kansas, the nation, and the world.

The Department of Physics is led by Professors Tim Bolton (Department Head), Amit Chakrabarti (Director of Physics Major Program ), Barbara Fennell (Director of Preprofessional Program), and Gary Wysin (Director of Graduate Program)

Department Administration



Postdocs & Visitors


Graduate Students